Friday 19th Apr 2019 - Logistics & Supply Chain

Winning the hearts and minds of shoppers

Retail has often been the driver of developments in the supply chain – and that is not surprising, given the impact that good practice can have on the bottom line.

Now we are looking for the best that the Retail sector has to offer in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards 2010. This sector has attracted entries from many of the top names in European retailing.

The Awards, organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with consultancy PRTM, are the gold standard for supply chain operations in Europe attracting entries from the world’s leading manufacturers, retailers and supply chain specialists.

Last year, the battle for the award in the retail and distribution category came down to a contest between two outstanding entries.  Primark, the “value fast fashion” retailer, had made great strides  in strategically redefining its supply chain to enable growth earning a  “Highly Commended” from the judges.  But the award went to Carlsberg, which worked with logistics service partner Gist to achieve a seamless and integrated supply chain.

In 2008 the category was won by Belron, the emergency windscreen service company which had transformed its operations to achieve a 98 per cent service level.

In 2007 Tesco Direct took the award, impressing the judges with its tremendous growth from a standing start and the way it was able to leverage everything the company could from existing supply chains and people.

What makes the Awards unique is a stringent judging process which focuses on performance against five core disciplines of supply chain.

The awards are presented at a glittering dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel before an audience of more than 450 industry leaders. This year the dinner will take place on Thursday 18th November.

The awards are split into a number of categories – sector awards covering the key areas of trade and industry, and business process awards that recognise excellence in specific supply chain functions.

Last year more than 60 companies were shortlisted for the awards. Telefónica O2 UK picked up the trophy for overall winner by demonstrating an outstanding level of performance across the five core disciplines of strategic supply chain management. The Individual Achievement Awards went to Peter Surtees, European supply chain director – consumer products at Kimberly-Clark for his work on developing collaborative operations with Kelloggs and Unilever.


Industry Sector Awards
The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. Entries are scored on the five core disciplines of: supply chain strategy; processing systems architecture; supply chain organisation; performance management; and collaboration.

Automotive, Aerospace & Industrial
Who should enter: Manufacturers of aircraft, defence equipment, motor vehicles and components, heavy engineering projects, such as electric generating plant, gas equipment.

Healthcare and Consumer Products
Who should enter: Manufacturers of consumer goods, healthcare products and pharmaceuticals.

Hi Tech, Communications & Electronics
Who should enter: Telecoms and manufacturers of electronics goods, such as mobile telephones, computers, televisions, and hi-tech equipment.

Public Sector, Services & Utilities
Who should enter: Government bodies and departments, civil service, city councils, service companies, health authorities and hospitals, charities, railway companies, maintenance companies, utilities such as the water, electricity and gas companies.

Who should enter: Retail supply chains including major multiples, department stores, fashion, hardware, electronics, and grocery.

Special Category Awards
The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.

Contribution to Environmental Improvement
What are the judges looking for? Projects that reduce carbon footprints, or use resources more efficiently and minimise waste.

Customer Service & Support
What are the judges looking for? Projects that can demonstrate an improvement in customer service /support through more effective management of the supply chain.

Logistics & Distribution
What are the judges looking for? Projects that demonstrate an improvement in the efficiency of a logistics operation. This could involve warehousing, national and international transport by air, sea rail or road – or any combination of these elements.

Multi Channel Logistics
What are the judges looking for? This new category looks focuses specifically on logistics projects in the fast-growing multi-channel environment. These might include reducing the cost / improving the accuracy of fulfilment or new solutions to the “last mile” problem.

Sourcing & Procurement
What are the judges looking for? Projects to improve the performance of the procurement function through innovation and/or more effective management of the process.

Supply Chain Innovation
What are the judges looking for? Projects that demonstrate how the organisation is driving change by the adoption of new, innovative supply chain practice.


Individual Contribution
This award cannot be entered. The winner is voted for by readers of Logistics Manager following nominations from the industry.

Team of the Year
The winner of this category is chosen from entries received for both Industry Sector and Special Category awards.

To enter you first need to register at the Awards web site. You can then download an entry form and start the entry process.

If you want to find out what it took to be a winner last year, there is a section on the web site with articles on all the current category champions as well as the overall winners.

The deadline for entries is Friday, 4th June 2010. To find out more and download an entry form, visit the Awards web site:

[asset_ref id=”423″]

Click here to join our Linked In group.

Get Weekly Logistics & Supply Chain News
Get Weekly Logistics & Supply Chain News
Thank you for your subscription