Thursday 22nd Oct 2020 - Logistics & Supply Chain

Time to highlight your environmental credentials

The Award for Contribution to Environmental Improvement has grown to be one of the most popular categories, attracting increasingly impressive entries.

We are now looking for entries for the Contribution to Environmental Improvement  category in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards 2011.

So, what does it take to win? The 2010 winner was Marks & Spencer working with DHL Supply Chain.

M&S is now three years into Plan A, the retailer’s industry-changing environmental strategy which has become an intrinsic part of the way the organisation operates. Working with DHL Supply Chain in the general merchandise operation, the partnership has achieved a 9.5 per cent reduction in carbon emissions – some 3,461 tonnes year 2009/10 vs 2007/8 – a 96 per cent recycling rate and through using a control tower approach to deliveries has achieved significant cost savings. The company has been instrumental in the development of the

But not far behind M&S was Constellation Europe, the wine importer, which moved from importing product in bottles to transporting in bulk containers and bottling in the UK, braving the traditionalist constraints of the wine industry. This was a £100m strategic move that saw the building of a state-of-the-art bottling and warehousing facility in Avonmouth with the saving of 250,000 km of HGV movements a year

If you have got a great story to tell, why not download a free entry form and put your firm forward to be recognised for its achievements.

The 2010 awards broke all records – more entries than ever, more companies making it to the shortlist, and more people at the Awards Night than ever before. In fact, the evening was over-subscribed – packing the Ballroom at the Grosvenor House Hotel to capacity and prompting our move to a larger venue – the London Hilton – for the 2011 Awards.

The European Supply Chain Excellence Awards are organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with PRTM. They were launched in 1997 to recognise and reward organisations in Europe that demonstrate excellence in their supply chain operations.

There are two main groups of awards. The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.


Industry Sector Awards
> Automotive, Aerospace & Industrial
> Consumer Products
> Hi-Tech, Communications &Electronics
> Public Sector, Services & Utilities
> Retail

Special Category Awards
> Contribution to Environmental Improvement
> Customer Service & Support
> Innovation in Supply Chain Practice
> Innovation in Use of Technology
> Logistics & Distribution Operations
> Logistics Strategy
> Sourcing & Procurement
> Training & Professional Development

> Team of the Year
> Overall Winner

Entry into the Awards is free – the deadline is Friday 3rd June 2011.

Register and download an entry form at

Get Weekly Logistics & Supply Chain News
Get Weekly Logistics & Supply Chain News
Thank you for your subscription