Thursday 15th Aug 2019 - Logistics & Supply Chain

Procurement under the spotlight

Effective Sourcing & Procurement can provide a clear competitive advantage and there are always strong candidates for this category in the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards.

Last year, the Award went to BSkyB which had put at the heart of its sourcing model the total cost of ownership for equipment that can expect to remain in a customer’s home for over ten years.

The judges said: “BSkyB has taken a radical approach to its supply chain and now truly uses it for competitive advantage… the company demonstrates its understanding of the value that can be achieved through vertical integration. This unusual approach has saved a large amount of money and has improved the quality of the product in the process.”

We are now looking for entries for the European Supply Chain Excellence Awards 2011.

If you have got a great story to tell, why not download a free entry form and put your firm forward to be recognised for its achievements.

The 2010 awards broke all records – more entries than ever, more companies making it to the shortlist, and more people at the Awards Night than ever before. In fact, the evening was over-subscribed – packing the Ballroom at the Grosvenor House Hotel to capacity and prompting our move to a larger venue – the London Hilton – for the 2011 Awards.

The European Supply Chain Excellence Awards are organised by Supply Chain Standard in partnership with PRTM. They were launched in 1997 to recognise and reward organisations in Europe that demonstrate excellence in their supply chain operations.

There are two main groups of awards. The Industry Sector Awards recognise excellence in organisation and management of a complete supply chain. The Special Category Awards differ from the Industry Sector Awards in that they recognise excellence in the implementation of a specific project.


Industry Sector Awards
> Automotive, Aerospace & Industrial
> Consumer Products
> Hi-Tech, Communications &Electronics
> Public Sector, Services & Utilities
> Retail

Special Category Awards
> Contribution to Environmental Improvement
> Customer Service & Support
> Innovation in Supply Chain Practice
> Innovation in Use of Technology
> Logistics & Distribution Operations
> Logistics Strategy
> Sourcing & Procurement
> Training & Professional Development

> Team of the Year
> Overall Winner

Entry into the Awards is free – the deadline is Friday 3rd June 2011.

Register and download an entry form at


Get Weekly Logistics & Supply Chain News
Get Weekly Logistics & Supply Chain News
Thank you for your subscription